Company (Outlet) Preferences >> Data Retention Tab (Reference)

Company Preferences >> Data Retention Tab
Company Preferences >> Data Retention Tab

As a true CRM system, Theatre Manager retains a complete record of important patron interactions. You may consider some of the data less valuable than other data and can indicate when you want this information purged from the database. Doing this helps reduce the size of the backups. It also means that the data would not be available online and can only be retrieved by reloading a monthly or annual back up of the database.

Web Logs and Shopping Cart Retention Policy   Top

Purge Completed Carts After XX Days

After this many days, purge web logs for carts where a patron signed in. Only logs are purged, not actual carts.


Purge Anonymous Carts After XX Days

After this many days, purge web logs for carts which remained anonymous or were not attached to a patron. Only logs are purged, not actual carts.


Purge Misc Data After XX Days

After this many days, purge miscellaneous data entry online that is not confirmed or saved by the patron.


Purge Unconfirmed Mail List After XX Hours

This represents the amount of time that a pending subscribe to a Mail List will remain without patron confirmation (from the double opt-in web email). If a patron does not confirm in time, the patron will be removed from the Mail List. If the patron does confirm they want added to the Mail List after the time out, they will be re-added in double-opt-in status (for CASL).


Keep Cart Content Data

Shopping carts have multiple lines that describe what the patron placed in their cart. One very important part of the checkout process is the recorded data about prices, promotions, seats, donation amounts, levels, resources, etc. When a cart is checked out, this data is copied to the actual tickets, donations, resources, gift certificates and is no longer needed. It is also not needed if carts are abandoned. However, it can take up significant space on a database. We recommend keeping this data for about 14 days or so as part of the audit trail, should AMS have to inspect carts to resolve issues. Other than that, it is worthwhile purging this data.


Document Retention   Top

Keep E-Tickets/Calendar Items

Indicate how long e-ticket and calendar files attached to emails are to be kept around. This number indicates the number of days after the performance before the e-ticket data is cleared from the document record. The document record is kept around to track that the patron was sent the information; it is only the contents that are removed. Removing the content significantly reduces the size of the database and backups.


Email, Letter and Correspondence History   Top

These settings are for retaining letters and correspondence history sent to patrons. Correspondence has the most text data and takes up the most space in backups. Letters can now can be purged en masse with two key exceptions:

  • Each letter has a preference indicating any history for which it cannot be purged for and must be kept forever.
    • For example, school contracts, artist contracts, etc should be kept.
    • Eblast letters are less important and after a few years should be allowed to be deleted from correspondence history.
  • Any letter attached to a record that is one of donation, donation receipt, volunteer position, volunteer history, or media can never be deleted, regardless if the letter is set to delete.
    • These letters are typically small in number, yet important enough tax/personnel records that they remain forever.

You can review letter history in each patron record or use the Letter Recipient List to review items sent to multiple patrons based on search criteria.

Keep Printed Letter History for XX Days

The default is 0, which keeps anything printed forever. Set to 1000 to keep any printed letter for 1,000 days after it is printed.


Keep Eblast History for XX Days

The default is 0, which keeps items forever. If you set this, then anything sent from the batch email merge or emailed to a patron individually will be deleted.


Keep Web Listener Emails for XX Days

Refers to any email originated by the web listener in response to a customer request (e.g. requests for passwords, confirmation emails, notes regarding patron info changes, etc). These are less useful so the default is to remove them after 1,000 days. Set it to 0 if you want to keep these forever.


Clear Searchable Notes in Letter

The default is on (checked). Letters and eblasts also contain a text-only version (no html or images). This means there are essentially two copies of each letter kept for each communication with a patron. The field is not used for searching, which allows the field to be emptied to save space. It is also possible to reconstitute this data if need be.


Delete History for Letters with No Merge Fields

Some letter merges and eblasts contain no merge fields (e.g. a pure HTML eblast). By tracking that, the history is the same as the original letter. It is possible to always see the content without needing to track the merged data. Any customized letter is not the same as the original letter and would not be compressed using this technique.